KOSHER DEFINING

Kosher laws are intricate and have specific guidelines for various food products. These food products must qualify according to the laid down laws in order to qualify for the Kosher label.

Meat

The animal must have split hooves and must chew cud and only cow, goat, sheep, lamp and deer are acceptable. Chicken, turkey, duck and geese are considered Kosher. Slaughter must be carried out according to defined guidelines and after slaughter there is an inspection process and further process that includes deveining, soaking and salting procedure.

Dairy

Kosher laws specify that milk and milk products must be obtained only from kosher animals following the kosher process known as Cholov Yisroel.

Dairy and Meat

Kosher laws stipulate that meat and dairy, if processed in a single factory, must have the processes totally separated. Equipments and utensils used for meat must not be used for dairy or vice versa. If they must be used then a cleaning process must be followed.

Pareve

In order to qualify for the Pareve label, foods must be totally vegetarian and must not have any dairy or meat ingredient or component. Fruits, vegetables, grains, fish and eggs are considered eligible for Pareve label. Fruits and vegetables must be washed thoroughly to remove any lurking insects.

Grapes, wines, liqueurs

Grape juice, wine, vinegar and brandy should be prepared strictly according to Rabbinic supervision. Even food products such as jams and jellies should use only kosher approved ingredients.

Kosher for Passover

In order for foods to be eligible to carry the Kosher for Passover label, these foods must be made only with utensils that are specific for this process according to Jewish Law. Conformance will have the product carrying a “P” next to the Kosher check symbol.

Our experts will provide guidance and assistance in each food category to help you obtain the Kosher certification for the category of food products you manufacture and thus gain access to international markets.